Tempus Fugit

Here´s my Latest Mixed Media Canvas (actually it´s 3 canvases). Size on each canvas is 15×15 cm.

When starting making this trio I knew I wanted all three canvases to make a unit. To be displayed about 1 cm apart. So I had to make all 3 at the same time.

I had a vision of the bricks on all three. So I started to put down brick stencils (Tim Holtz) on all three with a thick paste. On the side between the bricks I wanted a kind of concrete look so I used a gesso with lots of sand stones (Finnabair´s Art Extravagance Art stones).

When starting to think about what the theme of the 3 canvases should be I took out my stencils with clocks and thought that will look great. I also had a stencil which showed a measuring line so I incorporated that as well. I thought about a title and thought Time Flies… but then I realized no you´ve already used that, so why not Time Flies in a different language. So I ended up translating Time Flies to Latin. I glued down letters to spell Tempus Fugit.

Here´s a pic of the stencils, title, and glued down insects, cog wheels and flowers. It also shows the canvases with a first coat of paiting the bricks and flowers using Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists.

To connect the clocks with the theme I of course had to incorporate wings – Clocks equals Time wings equals flying (mind you this is my logic, not necessarily everyone elses:-). So I continued with my composition glueing down insects, a fairy and then this amazing piece of jewellry that I bought at a fleemarket, some cog wheels and then lots of flowers. The bricks, flowers and the flowers were painted first with Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists. Then the background – also with Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists. The details were lastly painted with black and brown Glimmer Paints. The silver parts were painted with DecoArt paint.

That´s all for today. Stay tuned for my next project with the title Lady Galadriel.

Leave a comment