Inside – Mixed Media Canvas steampunk style

Hi everyone,

I realize this style is not for everyone, but for me it has become a bit of an obsession….Here’s another signature Scrappin’ Stain type of canvas:-)

I call it “Inside” and the reason for this is that most of the pieces on the canvas are actual insides from something. For instance; I have taken lot’s of parts from a Heating tool, the insides from a telephone, several parts from insides of clocks and believe it or not, the insides of a sewing machine.

As some of the parts are quite heavy I had to secure the backside of the top canvas (meaning I screwed 2 peices of wood on the backside to make it more sturdy) and then I glued that canvas on top of another. This way the canvas is more stable and all the weight is evenly distributed. Also I liked the look of it with two canvases on top of eachother.

Once all the pices were glued on to the canvas, I painted the whole thing in a brown color. I have found that using white or black gesso as a primers does not work well with the bronze, green’s and gold colored mists. After it was painted brown I started using my mists using Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists; “Bronze”, “Vintage Brass”, “Walnut Gold”, “Roll Top Desk”, “Safari Green”, “Key Lime Pie” and “It’s Green”.

And once everything was sprayed with all the mists, I went over the whole thing with my Inka Golds to hightlight all the details. And voila….

Inside 1

Inside 14

Inside 10

Inside 6

Inside 2

Inside 4

Inside 21

Inside 24

Inside 25

Inside 26

Inside 29

Inside 30

I hope I can inspire some of you to pick apart your clocks, electric tools and…well just about anything, the hidden treasures inside are worth the job!

Thanks for stopping by, see you soon!

Spara

This entry was posted in Canvas Corp Brands, Inka Gold, Mixed Media Canvas, Steampunk, Tattered Angels. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Inside – Mixed Media Canvas steampunk style

  1. lindasimpsoncraftypieceofheaven says:

    WOW this is absolutely AWESOME!
    Hugs
    Linda xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa H says:

    this is really fabulous. Love it!

    Like

  3. cecile53 says:

    Great ! 🙂

    Like

  4. Patricia Hutzell says:

    Love the work. I don’t know what she said or did to set my inspiration going again enough for me to get out my pencil and start sketching a journal cover for my granddaughter who loves Steampunk. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

